Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "choppy" video in Premiere. I need some help please.

Default "choppy" video in Premiere. I need some help please.

Hello everyone,

I should preface by stating that I am relatively new to the world of video editing so I may be making a simple or obvious error here.

I have recorded some video on a Samsung SC-HMX10C digital camcorder. The camcorder records in both HD and standard format. Regardless of quality setting it will always record in the 16:9 aspect ratio. (not sure if all of this info is important, I just figured it was a good idea to be thorough in my explanation). The video output is mp4.

The only app I have that will allow me to view mp4's at all is Premiere. I think this is noteworthy since I have never been able to confirm or deny that the video is "choppy" outside of premiere in it's native mp4 format.

When I open the video in Premiere I have to admit that I am not 100% certain which setting I should open it in. I have been selecting the NTSC setting as the camera says NTSC on it and I figured that is a good starting point.

Regardless of the setting, I end up with a video that has a choppy strobe light like effect. I'm no expert but I want to say that the frame rate is "off" somehow.

The plot thickens...

I used an app to convert the original video file from mp4 to avi. In doing so it allowed me to view the avi version of this video in virtually all of my available video players.The video plays fine in the avi format in every app except for Premiere pro. In Premiere pro it still continues to have the choppy strobe light like appearance. To clarify, in both avi and mp4 formats the video is choppy in Premiere.

This leads me to believe that I am simply not opening it in Premiere correctly.

Can someone please point me in the right direction or provide me with a resource so I may become more educated on the subject enough to determine how I should be opening the file in Premiere? Thanks.