Thread: How Much for first paid vwedding video

Question How Much for first paid vwedding video

I have been dilly daddling with Wedding videography for almost six years producing 6 amatuer but complete, wedding videos. These have mostly been for friends and although I have been re-imbursed some costs as a thank you gesture I have yet to be paid. However, I have just been approached by a friend of a friend who has seen one of my videos and would like me to give them a qoute . since, until now i have not thought of this as any thing more than a hobby i haven't looked into cost.

I have a Sony FX1 and a radio mic system to hand. I have a decent computer and Final cut pro for editing and was wondering if anybody could give me an idea of what i should qoute? and what cost facters i should consider i.e. copyright seeing as I would be charging? and also maybe what services I should offer and should not offer seeing as I am only a newbie (I don't want to get in over my head).

As I said i have done a number of vids and they have already been impressed with what i have done before , I'm certain they would not want to pay a huge amount (and with my experiance, even though i would say i was good ) i shouldn't ask for a large payment. any thoughts and advice welcome.

any how thanks in advance,

Gary

Blog Entries

If you treat this as a business, then the price you charge would have to be the market rate. That is the price at which people are willing to buy your product whilst you are making a profit. How big your profit will be is based on how much better your product is than others in the market.

So start off by pricing out your costs. How long does it take to film, edit and present the final video? What is the depreciation costs of your equipment and what are the physical costs of each shoot and edit (packaging, fuel, etc). Only when you have priced out your costs can you start to see how much you need to charge to break even.