Thread: Preparations for making a documentary.

Default Preparations for making a documentary.

Ok, so I am a complete novice and I'm aiming high but this is what I want to attempt to do.
    In two months time we will be travelling to Uluru (Ayers rock) from Perth - Western Australia.
    The entire trip will take about 6 weeks. We will be on our own, completely self sufficient.
    I want to put together a documentary of the trip- aimed at off road travellers, highlighting the beauty of some of the remote/desert country in these areas as well as providing information on the various tracks that we will be travelling on - ie- degree of difficulty (though these can change due to different factors)
    In short I want it to be interesting to anyone thinking about travelling that route - or to the destinations we have in mind along the journey. (Uluru being the highlight of the trip, but there will be many more interesting landscapes to be explored along the way.)

So here's what I think I need to do.

First of all I need to completely understand how my new camera works,
    (I am buying a JVC Everio HD7) and spend the next two months practising filming with it under all kinds of variable outdoor situations. Like I said I really am a novice! (I've only had SD camera's in the past.)

I need to thoroughly research the areas we are going to be travelling through and TO and dig up any interesting facts, history (old ruins etc), geographical type interesting facts - wildlife or flora typical to certain areas?
    It's no good getting there and not knowing WHAT to film I'm thinking - although some things might need to be researched when we get back.
    Maybe even the names of aboriginal tribal communities in certain areas. Some roads require fee's to drive across as they are on aboriginal land.
    Places in which to buy fuel and stock up on food (reporting on fuel and food prices along the way will be a MUST)