Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Alert - Need your expert advice

Default Newbie Alert - Need your expert advice

Hey Guys & Gals,

Firstly, i am very new to all of this, so please forgive me if these seem like very basic questions, but if you could give me your advice, i would appreciate it very much.

OK id like to learn to edit my own videos and create half-decent family dvd's out of my work, i have done some research and purchased Power Director as my software of choice.

I have captured some footage which i done in HD, with a resolution of 1920x1080 however when viewing the footage on my computer, it is very jumpy. In all honesty i expected it due to the high res and the HD factor, however its no good for me to use to 'learn' how to edit videos.

I have a brand new laptop which i am using for this, which has 2gb of ram, 2.4ghz dual core athlon, so i have to work with what i have got.

I am assuming i need to some how convert this video so the res is smaller, or something. can anybody advise on what i need to do to just allow me to use the footage i have already captured to have a play around with Power Director, and if im serious about wanting to edit videos, i can then build a custom-built PC specifically for this.

If you could point me in the right direction, or give me any 'starter tips' i would really really appreciate it.

Thanks guys

If your videos are kinda jumping, probably it's your computer or your video player, how is the image when you watched it on tv ? .
    Try using a different player and see how it looks, hd files are hudge so try just to capture a small parte of your footage to see how it looks if it looks better then either it is your player or computer .

Visit my portuguese blog :
    VĂ*deo Digital

3. Default

Your laptop spec is certainly up to the job, what software are you using to view the captured footage or are you just viewing in Power Director?