Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which Video Editing Software

Question Which Video Editing Software

Hello

I am a newbie to this forum and to video editing. I have bought a second hand PC that has a Canopus Capture Card, DVStorm2 Drivers and Applications and Adobe Premier 6.5.

I would appreciate any advice regarding the software I have; should I stay with what I have or should I look to purchase more up to date programmes? If so what would you recommend? The PC I have is a self build with a Pentium 4 3.66Ghz Processor, 1 Gb RAM, a Pioneer 105 DVD - RW Re Writer and OS is Windows XP Home Edition 2002.

Please let me know if there is anything I need to change.

Thank you

What's your camera?

If it's miniDV, in terms of editing functionality, I can't see you're going to get much benefit from replacing Premiere 6.5. However, there are a couple of other things to bear in mind. Firstly, it's not a beginner's program and secondly, if you're planning to stick your creations onto DVD, you will need some DVD creation software.

I have a Sony Handycam, which does use the small digital tapes. I also have Ulead DVD Workshop SE which I believe is a DVD creation programme? I would appreciate any other advice you can offer me on maybe tutorials publications that will help me. I have a copy of the Premier 6.5 Video Workshop that seems quite good at covering the basics of Premier, but I do realise that this is not really a beginner's programme. Fortunately I am in a position where I do have plenty of time to dedicate to learning.

Thanks for your reply Ande.

I bought the Visual Quickstart Guide for Premiere 5.1 (last version of Premiere I used). It was excellent and I imagine the 6.5 update will be just as good. Not sure where you are based but second-hand copies are available from Amazon.co.uk:

Amazon.co.uk: Premiere 6.5 for Windows and Macintosh (Visual QuickStart Guides): Antony Bolante: Books