Thread: Trimming HD Video with out editing

1. Default Trimming HD Video with out editing

Excuse my ignorance but...

I have just got 12GB of footage into Premier Pro, I want to break this footage down into 4GB sections so I can get it onto a DVD & sent off to a client as is. I don't want the footage compressed or changed to any other format. However there doesn't seem to be any option for doing this within the Export - Movie option.

Every option seems to be for an .avi output & as HD capture in seems to be mpeg I'm confused. Any clues anyone?

P.S. I use avi codec to discover resolution, codecs etc on video files, but it doesn't work on mpegs, can anyone suggest something?

Western Europe

I've never tried this before but measure out 20 minute segments and that will be around the capacity of a 4.7GB DVD disc. Your pushing nearly an hour of video at 12GB, so split it into three 20 minute, or whatever time it is exactly, sections and put each section on a separate DVD. Just make sure the Timeline window is highlighted and then do an Export->To DVD and it will convert it to mpeg for DVD burning. And trimming is editing.
    Last edited by Nikosony; 05-06-2008 at 09:42 PM.

3. Default

Ta for reply, yes trimming is editing I'll agree.

What I want is to give my client the exact footage I have, but trimmed so it fits onto DVDs.

If I pop this onto a DVD via premiere pro then a 12GB file gets compressed to around 2GB. So I just want to know how to cut the file into 20 minute segments, but all exactly the same compression, format, resolution as they are now.

Basically. My client wants the HD footage I shot. He doesn't have any means of getting HD into his computer so sending the tapes isn't an option. 12GB is currently too big to fit onto one DVD, I need to trim it. How?

Thanks for any further suggestions?