Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Burn to Blu-Ray always Fails "Failed to open file"

  1. Default Burn to Blu-Ray always Fails "Failed to open file"

    This one was driving me mad. A file that successfully renders out just couldn't be used to write out an image to Blu-Ray in Sony Vegas Pro 8.0, always failing at the 100% mark with the following error:

    Filename: STREAM/00001.m2ts
    Status: TSWrapper.dll::CTSWrapper::ProcThreadMain::IO Error --- Failed to open file: 'C:\Users\Ian Smith\AppData\Local\Sony\Vegas Pro\8.0\~bdmux2808\media\......

    Turns out that the default setting for burning to Blu-Ray is the cause of the problem (how dumb is it to set a default audio format that won't work??!!!)

    The default setting (under Tools -> Burn Disc -> Blu-Ray disc) sets the Audio Format to "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)"

    Change it (using the drop-down) to "AC3" and then everything works fine.

    Thought it worth posting here as I'd searched around for a while and not found anything.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Thanks

    Was having this same annoying problem. Thanks for the solution. I'll give it a try.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [COLOR=red
    irascian[/color];87463]Turns out that the default setting for burning to Blu-Ray is the cause of the problem (how dumb is it to set a default audio format that won't work??!!!)
    Are you saying it is "dumb" because of the default being set to "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)"? Or are you saying that "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)" doesn't work, and therefore it is "dumb" to set it to this?

    If "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)" doesn't work - period - then SONY needs to be informed about this. If it DOES work then having set as the first selection - the Help file does say "Choose a setting Audio format drop-down list to indicate whether you want to burn AC-3 or Wave64 (PCM) audio - is NOT a default, it is a "choice" and therefore NOT a default. And again, the Help file states that the user can "Choose a setting from the Audio template drop-down list . . . " This again is a choice and NOT a default situation. And again, are you saying that the "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)" doesn't work?

    IMO, there is more to this than what you have experienced:

    1] "Defaults" aren't the same as having a "choice". Now, "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64) is the first in the list of 2 - the other being the AC-3. That's not dumb, that's giving the user a choice.

    2] Are you quite sure that the "Sony Wave64 (*.wv64)" doesn't operate in the way you thought? Maybe it DOES work, but for others.

    3] Are you saying that ONLY AC-3 can be used when burning a Blue Ray?

    I thought it would be worth posting this. If you haven't already, please read the Vegas Online Help file and tell me what I have misunderstood. I am always willing to learn.

    Best regards

    Grazie

  4. #4

    Default unlocking the AC3 option

    Just an additional note. To use the creative labs AC3 audio in Vegas , you need to install the DVD Architect and register it.

Similar Threads

  1. Cyber Link Power Director Express "File Limit Exceeded"
    By jesse in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 08:59 PM
  2. Cannot open "edit generated media"
    By RSp in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 10:09 AM
  3. Ulead 11 - "Failed to burn data to Disc" *PROBLEM* help pls
    By alqamardesigns in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 01:27 PM
  4. Adobe premier "unsupported audio rate in file"
    By vectorz090 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2007, 06:43 PM
  5. "pixel gross" and "video actual", the difference?
    By Krumiro in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 02:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •