Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Audio and video not in synch

Default Audio and video not in synch

Hi there. I'm just beginning to get to grips with Adobe Premiere and Adobe Encore. Managed to put together what seemed like a nice little project in Premiere - four sequences, total around 15 minutes. Imported the resulting .avi files into Encore, did some stuff with buttons etc., then ran Preview. Sound and video were out of sync - sound ahead of video, and seeming to get worse nearer the end of the project. The original Premiere-output .avi files played fine in Windows Media Player, though, and I was also able to asemble them and burn them to DVD using Ulead Video Studio with no synch problems. Has anyone else encountered this problem - and solved it? I've heard that this is 'only' a bug in Preview mode, and that if I go on and just burn the project, the synch issue will have disappeared. However, I'm loath to waste a DVD trying this. I'm using entirely standard PAL presets. Any/all help very gratefully received. Cheers, Ian.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

When trying anything new with burning I can only recommend 'practicing' with rewritable media first. No expensive coffee mats that way.

Basically, try burning your project and see.

Also, try the following. Export from PPro as MPEG2 and build your timelines in Encore using those (M2V and WAV files - seperate video and sound files). This is what I do and to date have not seen your issue. But then again I haven't really done many DVDs either.

Thanks Millsy. Yeah, need to get me some DVD-RWs... What do you know of the general level of compatibility between DVD-RWs (as opposed to DVD-Rs) with 'set top' DVD players?