Thread: slideshows in premiere for viewing on TV

Default slideshows in premiere for viewing on TV

Hi

I am a newbie to video editing other than trying to find a program that will produce slideshows to watch on TV.

I am using Adobe premiere pro, this is the program i am led to believe that will get the results. i would like to create a slideshow to watch on my widescreen TV (PAL). i have tried other programs and so far with a little help from reading forums have obtained the best results so far with premiere although i am not convinced that i cannot do better, the technique at the moment is to import pictures into photoshop crop and resize de-interlace and apply a 0.2 pixel gausian blur.

The question

willl i ever get the same resuls as i do on my computer on TV.

Well, I'm not really sure what you mean by "same results".

Chances are that most images are going to look better on your PC screen that they do when the same resolution is stretched over a larger area on your TV. If your TV is High Definition, you're not going to see Blue-Ray HD DVD quality unless you're creating true HD movies and exporting them to an HD DVD (like blue ray) or through an HD cable direct to your TV.

Also- Unless you're creating Widescreen Projects when you're using Premiere, you'll be creating a 4:3 ("normal") ratio slideshow which is being displayed on a 16:9 ratio ("widescreen") tv set. This means that, depending on the TV settings, you'll either be stretching the image across the tv horizontally, cutting off bits and enlarging it to "fit", or simply watching it with black bars on the sides, with your normal 4:3 video in the middle.

Hopefully one of these is answering your question. Let us know!

Firstly, sorry everone for the two posts on the same subject i had a browser problem when i posted and did not realise that i had two posts.