Thread: Splicing in Power Director

Rugby, Warwickshire

Default Splicing in Power Director

Power Director Problems

I'm a novice at editing. I have having problems splicing two bits of video together in the Power Director "Master Video track" . I have got two bits of video side by side. I have noticed that you have to use the "lock/unlock" feature in order to be able to get the slider to go past the join. I guess you have to have them locked when you use "Produce" in order for them to form one complete video. I am having problems with the "trim" feature. The "mark in" works ok because it is in the first video segment. But when I try to use the "set mark out" timers, when I set it at 19 minutes it jumps back to 4 minutes. Previously when I set it it was jumping back to 14 minutes which is when the first segment ends.

Is there a procedure for joining the two segments that I have missed?

Cheers Chris Parkinson

Hi There .
    I too am new to this software, however if you have two clips (ie) two bits of video
    then all you need to do to say take out any unwanted bits is to have the view set to clips
    and click into the clip so the border turns green to indicate its selected
    then use the scrubber (the little marker at the top of the time line to increment + in time or vice verse until you find the frame or unwanted bit of video you dont want .. and then on the left hand side of the screen select "Split". then again using the scrubber continue untill you see the next but if clip youi do want , and click on split again ...
    then click on the previous clip and right mouse click and select delete .. this will then leave you with your wanted clips .. all you need to do now is go to produce and save it as a file save dvd hq .. to disk give it a file name and there you go ...

you then need to use a disc authorising software and add you video , add your background, menu buttons etc then burn to disc.. if you have added your vidfeo correctly you will get