Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: capture settings for rough cut

  1. #1

    Default capture settings for rough cut

    Hi,
    Is it possible to capture low quality footage into Premiere Pro CS3 for work on a rough edit. Footage shot in DV but space minimal on company laptop.

    I've read about "offline files" and capturing footage in low quality, putting the program together, then recapturing just the required edits in full quality. But I don't know how to do it.

    How do I do it?

    Thanks,
    Russ

    Dutch Films

    Canon HV30 | RODE VideoMic | Adobe Premiere Pro CS4.

  2. #2

    Default

    Well you can work with offlines files and do all your edit but remember that your new file must match your offline file .

    Check this out it will help you getting start in adobe premiere :

    Adobe Premiere Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Guildford
    Posts
    7

    Wink

    i use't to do this allot before i got a good computer. best way is to capture all the files at full quality then use something like VirtualDub to trans-code the files to a good editing codec with a low bit-rate and colour depth but keeping the resolution and frame rate the same (i used motion jpeg). edit with these then just unlink the files and link them back up with the full quality ones wen your reedy to render

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks.
    That wiki looks a good site, loads of info, ta for the link.
    I'd sooner not capture full quality then transcode to smaller files, edit then recapture, seems a waste of time. The disk won't be that big and work won't cough up more money for better equipment so I have to make do. I thought of using windows movie maker to capture direct from camera a wmv, will this work ok?
    Russ

    Dutch Films

    Canon HV30 | RODE VideoMic | Adobe Premiere Pro CS4.

  5. #5

    Default

    Why don't you capture with adobe premiere ? Or windv that is free .

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RDINIS View Post
    Why don't you capture with adobe premiere ? Or windv that is free .
    I normally do capture in premiere, but i can't figure out how to lower the quality of the capture to get smaller files for editing on company laptop. My plan is to capture small files (somehow) then edit, and recapture just the bits i want at top quality to make my dvd. Like I said previously, company is tight and won't buy new equipment but want the job doing
    Russ

    Dutch Films

    Canon HV30 | RODE VideoMic | Adobe Premiere Pro CS4.

Similar Threads

  1. capture settings
    By randomagain in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2007, 04:04 PM
  2. Problems with project and capture settings, really need help
    By freedumb_youth in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 10:15 AM
  3. Video Capture and Output Settings for best quality?
    By Intwist in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 03:33 PM
  4. OPtimising Capture Settings in VS 6 SE
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-15-2004, 08:11 AM
  5. Analogue Capture settings
    By chrislo in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 10:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •