Thread: beginer need help with pinnicle 9

Default beginer need help with pinnicle 9

HI
    Im new to vidio editing and have been messing around with pinnicle 9 and need help can you capture video from your hard drive or disc as I only seem to have the option to capture from video cam, and also can you only use mp3 files if you want to make your own sound track.

I don't use Pinnacle 9 so this will just be general help, the usual setup for capturing is you connect your camcorder to the computer either using Firewire or USB and get the software to capture the video onto the hard drive. If you have a Mini DVD or hard disk camcorder then you can either finalise the mini dvd disc in the camcorder, take it out and put it into the dvd burner drive on your computer and copy the video files onto the computer hard disk. Or if you have a hard disk camcorder then just connect it to the computer using a USB cable.

Once the video is on the computer hard drive, you can then open it up in your editor and work away on it. You can use lots of different files to make your finished video including different video file formats (.avi, .mov, .vob etc), still images (.jpeg, .tiff, .bmp etc) and audio files (.mp3, .wav, .aiff etc). What type of camcorder do you have?

to be honest all I have at the moment is unedited footage that I shot on an old analoge sony handycam, I had it on video tape and transfered it to dvd disc I would like to edit and add transitions but I cant get the pinnicle software to capture it from disc and when I save it from disc into a folder on my hard drive the program dosent seem to have an option to capture from hard drive the capture menu only has capture from DV as an option.