Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help understanding V8 compositing behavior

Default help understanding V8 compositing behavior

I'm fairly new to Vegas and have a question about how it composites.

I have a video track that shows a computer display, and I followed the directions on this site to blur out the names shown in one column for privacy reasons.

However, when the tracks fade in or out -- i.e., whenever their opacity is less than 100%, the blurred-out region shows up brighter than the rest of the image.

What I have is two tracks, the top track containing a duplicate of the second track, with a mask around the content I need blurred, and a pixelate effect applied to that layer.

Looks like what is happening is when the tracks are fading, the top layer is getting more transparent, and the second (original) track starts to show through, brightening the region that was masked and blurred.

Can folks here offer me some suggestions around this? I figure it should be easy to do with compositing settings (right now set to Source Alpha), but haven't been able to puzzle that out.

Only idea I have is to actually black out the same region in the second track, but that seems very crude. Also I don't see any way to get the masks the same in both tracks....

thanks!

monty
    Last edited by mkosma; 04-17-2008 at 05:22 AM.

STOP!

From the results you explain you are getting and the aim of what you are wanting to achieve, I think you are confusing "Masks" as used in Compositing and "Masking" as you can use in Pan/Crop. Right or wrong?

In any event:

A] T1 will have the pixeled/blurred info

B] T2 will have original

What you need to do is

1] To Track1 Event apply any form of FX that will obscure the info you wish to disguise. Of course this will now "smoother" Track 2 too.