Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: "line in" problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default "line in" problem

    No replies to my WinFast TV usb problem, so lets try explaining it a different way. The picture gets to the pc, the sound goes down the "audio out" mini-jack lead to the speakers, so no problem, but if I try to record I cannot get the sound into the pc. I have, of course, now plugged the mini-jack lead into the "line-in" socket for the sound card, but I cannot find any sort of volume control for the line-in socket to the sound card.

    The sound card is by SoundMax & will work with a 6 speaker system, but I am told I need to set it to just stereo speakers to be able to use the "line-in" socket, which is also used as one of the speaker sockets. This I have done.

    So, the sound is definitely getting to the "line-in" socket, but will not come out of the speakers or get recorded with the tv picture. The sound system works fine as I can play a dvd or cd.

    Should I have a "line-in" entry along with cd player, microphone, aux etc. amongst the recording volume controls. If I should have one, how do I get it there?

    Thanks in advance,
    Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    For the audio in controls, go:

    Start > Control Panel > Sounds and Audio Devices > Advanced (in Device Volume) > Options > Advanced Controls.

    Untick anything that shows mute.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks Marc. Everything is selected & nothing muted. Should there be an entry for "line-in" ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Yes. In the screen I told you to go to, select option > properties and tick the box next to line in to show it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I have looked everywhere but no mention of line-in anywhere. There are 6 entries for recording & 13 for playback

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    if u messenger me, i can take a look at ur pc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default

    it isn't this pc, it is another one in another room - never used the "messenger" facility before to access a pc, but I do use MSN Messenger

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Marc, I'll move to the other pc & try & get you on Messenger, it'll take a few minutes

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Are you getting something like this:

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Yes Marc, I do have a screen like the one you showed in that.jpg. but there is no "line in" entry at all

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "HELP" Sony DCR-HC96E DV transfer problem.
    By escortg3 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 11:47 AM
  2. Noob problem: best described as "tearing" in videos.
    By LawsonT in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2006, 09:44 PM
  3. Solving the "Canīt activate recorder. Try resetting camera"-problem
    By abrotherus in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 06:16 PM
  4. Lypsync Problem and occasional "blockyness"
    By canadiain in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 04:23 PM
  5. "Boxmobiles" and "The Forest"
    By MasterMike in forum User Videos
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-25-2004, 02:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •