Thread: DVD Copying Security?

Default DVD Copying Security?

Do most softwares editing/dvd creators come with the option of security coding to your dvd? not sure if thats the wording for it but I wanted to make sure that you can not copy them. i know theres always a way but just to make it harder you know...

also if that is all possible when i mass produce the dvd how will i be able to burn the dvds off the master copy and them still able to have that coding in it??

Im a total newb, so if im not being clear tell me... ask me/ help me pleassee!!

Blog Entries

From experience, most DVD editing software come with macrovision that allows you to protect your content. However, I've just done some googling and several sources indicate that you can't apply this to a writable DVD. Crazy. To take advantage of this when DVDs, I understand that you would need to apply this by replication... not really very cost effective until a run in the 1,000s.

I recall that Sonic's DVDitPE does have copy protection encryption capability for you writable project authoring.

BTW - GREAT dvd creation software. My older version does not include encryption but the newer versions do it well.

PROBLEM is you not being able to use consumer copy programs to make multiple copies.

For a few copies, no problem, just tell DVDitPE how many copies you want and it will make them at time of dvd program creation. Or course, if you really want mass production just have a pro duplication shop do the job. Whacky for an individual to try to make hundreds of distribution copies.
    goodluck
    Last edited by imjay; 04-13-2008 at 11:23 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post