Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Displaying 2 movies at once on 2 monitors

  1. #1

    Exclamation Displaying 2 movies at once on 2 monitors

    IS there a software program that will let me sync 2 movies to each other. So when I hit play they will both play at the same time? On 2 diffrent monitors Fullscreen. Or even a solution to do this?
    Thanks guys and gals.

  2. #2

    Default

    NO, this is not possible and no software out there will do it for you.
    You use dual monitor to see you work on another monitor but not two movies on different monitor at once....

    To do so you need to open the same program twice to edit 2 movies.

  3. #3

    Default

    Actually it is possible...

    Multi-take/multi-cam editing. Final cut pro has multiple clip timelines which allow you to sync multiple clips (up to 16) and play back simultaneously from one trigger, whilst exporting each track to it's own monitor.

    Other software can probably do this too, but don't know which. I've only ever tried with FCP.


    Dream-Media - I suggest you quit giving people silly feedback, as it looks like you have a limited grasp of the subjects at hand.

  4. #4

    Default

    Mosh, this subject was posted on "04-05-2008, 12:40 AM" till then where you all gurus were you are unable to provide him with the answers even you know about everything.This is crazy someone asks for help and you guys seen nowhere to help them but when some answers to the post abt what he know that sounds crap to you, nice i avoid this next time.

  5. #5

    Default

    What? 44 hours is not a long time... not even 2 days?

    It's not like I check this site every day, and from your response you've made it sound like i've bumped a 2 year old thread?!?! I'm sorry that I didn't reply 15 hours sooner..... as you managed to in all your incorrect glory

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream-Media View Post
    Mosh, this subject was posted on "04-05-2008, 12:40 AM" till then where you all gurus were you are unable to provide him with the answers even you know about everything.This is crazy someone asks for help and you guys seen nowhere to help them but when some answers to the post abt what he know that sounds crap to you, nice i avoid this next time.
    Hey Now no need to fight kiddies.
    Thanks for both of your inputs. Final cut is a little rich for my blood. And also i should of said that im running a windows machine.
    So there for Final cut is out of the question.
    So your both right.
    Last edited by Imaphaggit; 04-07-2008 at 07:29 AM.

  7. #7

    Default

    I might just have to run 2 pcs but i dunno how i would trigger both of them to run a video at the same time. cause they need to be synces almost precisely this is a different subject for different folks. If anyone else has so input it would be greatly appreciated.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Essentially you need two instances of a video application to open up simultaneously, and then to expand to full screen. Although you can open up multiple instances of the current versions of Media Player, Media Player 6.4 can be opened up in multiple sessions. So that's the first hurdle, download media player 6.4.

    The second is opening them up simultaneously. You should be able to do this by automating a command line script in a bat file.

    This command will open up a new instance of the player, and then play the file in full screen automatically:

    Mplayer2.exe /play /fullscreen c:\pathtovideo\video.avi

    So that's the second issue covered. Create a bat file with that command.

    The final is opening up two instances at the same time on different screens. The problem with the method above is that it will simply open up on the same screen! So you can't automate it using my method, but you can drag it to another screen (the videos will be in synch).

    A more fundamental problem is that yoiu need to ensure that you can play a video overlay on both screens at once. Which leads me to my final point - why not just set up the monitors as mirrors? That way, whatever is one one screen is displayed on the other? Or is this two different video files?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bladon
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    Essentially you need two instances of a video application to open up simultaneously, and then to expand to full screen. Although you can open up multiple instances of the current versions of Media Player, Media Player 6.4 can be opened up in multiple sessions. So that's the first hurdle, download media player 6.4.

    The second is opening them up simultaneously. You should be able to do this by automating a command line script in a bat file.

    This command will open up a new instance of the player, and then play the file in full screen automatically:

    Mplayer2.exe /play /fullscreen c:\pathtovideo\video.avi

    So that's the second issue covered. Create a bat file with that command.

    The final is opening up two instances at the same time on different screens. The problem with the method above is that it will simply open up on the same screen! So you can't automate it using my method, but you can drag it to another screen (the videos will be in synch).

    A more fundamental problem is that yoiu need to ensure that you can play a video overlay on both screens at once. Which leads me to my final point - why not just set up the monitors as mirrors? That way, whatever is one one screen is displayed on the other? Or is this two different video files?
    Thanks for that Marc, I learnt somthing there. A pretty cool method too .

Similar Threads

  1. 40" LCD Monitors
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 07:55 PM
  2. Possible two monitors?
    By BigBadWimp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 04:53 PM
  3. The purpose of using 2 monitors?
    By Hell Atlantic in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 03:07 PM
  4. Premiere 6.5 not displaying pics
    By d4thun in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 12:24 AM
  5. Overscan - not displaying titles correctly
    By aljaxon in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-03-2005, 08:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •