Thread: Learn to use manual controls or buy a better camera?

Question Learn to use manual controls or buy a better camera?

I wasn't sure where to post this; if it's in the wrong place, please relocate it to the proper area.

I'm sure many of you folks have a background in still photography (SLR cams) that has helped you take better video. Manually setting up the camera, for example.

I have no such background; I'm good at framing shots and composing the picture (rule of thirds, etc) but I know nothing about F-stops or apeture openings. I know WHAT they are but no idea what number is good for what uses.

Which brings me to my question. I have a beginner's DV cam, a Canon Elura 100. Outdoors, it takes great video but indoor shots tend to be a bit grainy and slightly dark (even though I'm running the tape at full speed, 60 minutes vs. 90 minutes recording time).

I'm wondering if doing things like manually setting the white balance, aperture, etc would net me better video? Or should I just buy a better camera to begin with and leave it on manual?

Thanks for any tips or tutorials you can point me to.

Blog Entries

It is always a good idea to learn manual controls. Auto controls do a dam good job but they only give you one possible set up, and that set up is likely to change as conditions change cau7sing unwanted changes.

Smaaler cameras tend t be quite fiddly to use in manual mode and are not really designed to be used that way. Larger cameras have the controls set out with manual operation in mind.

Read up on 'depth of field' to discover how this manual technique can improve your film making. Manual focus is useful if you can do that with your camera.

I have a 'pro' cam that i use all manual (90% of the time) and a small sony pc4 that I use in all auto (90% of the time) - that suits the way each camera works and reflects how I use them.