Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Timeframe/Time units

  1. #1

    Default Timeframe/Time units

    Evening all,

    I did try a search for this, so hope it hasn't been covered and apologies if it has.

    I've got a horrible feeling I know the answer to this, but will ask anyway!

    I recently bought Elements 4 (and Photoshop Elements 6 bundle) to edit footage from a recent trip.

    I have a very straightforward idea (and I'm sure it has been done a thousand times before, but hey ho!), in that I want at the start of my video to have still photos change to the the beat.

    The beat in question is the very well known "Blue Monday" by New Order.

    Now, the problem I have is that when I detect the beats in Prem Elements 4 and then go to add my photos to change exactly on these beats at the start of the song, for the series of very fast beats, I can only seem to stretch the timeline out and deal with minimum time units of half a second.

    However, this doesn't suit, I need to be dealing with tenths of a second (at the largest!).

    Can this be done? Everytime i try to drag something inbetween, it snaps to the half second mark and so do all my manual markers. Surely this can be achieved?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Squiggs

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I don't have Premiere Elements 4 in front of me but as it is a frame accurate editor, you should be able to zoom right into single frames on the timeline. Look for a slider or a magnifying glass near to the timeline and keep clicking or dragging it to the right until it stops.

  3. #3

    Default

    Also, on the timeline you may need to turn off the Snap feature
    http://muvipix.com Everything you wanted to know about Premiere Elements and more

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Engels View Post
    Also, on the timeline you may need to turn off the Snap feature
    Both,

    Thanks. I think it does hve something to do with the snapping to the timeline. I've turned it off and I'm as zoomed in on the time stretch as I ca be.

    Even though I've turned the snap feature off, I still can't move clips or images inbetween the ruler markers. They ill always "snap" to the ruler markings. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Squiggs

  5. #5

    Default

    When you are as zoomed in as you can get on the Timeline you are at a single frame view. You can't have less than one frame, it isn't possible, nor would it ever be necessary.
    http://muvipix.com Everything you wanted to know about Premiere Elements and more

  6. #6

    Default

    Chuck,

    Thanks, but working on that logic, by the time I get to the second set of fast beats at the start of the tune (if I can only change the picture by "frame"), then the pics are totally out of sync with the beats?

    Thanks
    squiggs

  7. #7

    Default

    There are 30 frames per second (NTSC) and 25 frames per second (PAL), how can they be out of sync at that minute detail? Maybe you are not really zoomed into the timeline all the way?

    Maybe a screen shot of your timeline will give me a better idea of what you are talking about
    http://muvipix.com Everything you wanted to know about Premiere Elements and more

Similar Threads

  1. My 1st Time
    By Barewolf in forum User Videos
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 08:47 PM
  2. When was your last time... ?
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 09:22 PM
  3. Too much time
    By miwhel in forum User Videos
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 06:04 AM
  4. ITS HDV TIME !!!
    By Dean B in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 07:14 PM
  5. Time
    By Jackshere in forum User Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2005, 03:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •