Thread: What do I need to do?

Default What do I need to do?

Evening all,

What qualifications are needed if I were to become a compositor or video editor? Take into consideration that I am currently an IT engineer, so I'm guessing I'm going to need to attain certain qualifications, or at least take a course to learn whatever software is required for either of these roles.

I am UK based, so if you could refer to courses/qualifications here in the UK that would be great.

Many thanks,
    Sam

I don't know what qualifications you will need but you will definitely need a showreel of previous work. You will need to show your competence using certain software packages and how creative you are. If you can show potential employers something they haven't seen before (I assume that's what you are referring to) then that puts you one step ahead of the thousands of others. You need to show ad's, tv work, movie work, 3d modelling and corporate work that you have done in order to get your foot in the door. Are you artistic, can you paint or draw, do you have a good eye for composition, do you understand light and shade?

But what do I do if I am starting out? From a complete start point.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by SamNeeds View Post
    But what do I do if I am starting out? From a complete start point.
    How do you know that this is what you want to do? Nikosony assumes that you are, at present, an ethusiast, and would therefore have a body of work. If you don't have a body of work, I would suggest:

1) That you couldn't know that you want to be involved in the industry; and
    2) Any money spent on courses would be a potential waste of money.