Thread: Complete noob needs your help!

Red face Complete noob needs your help!

Hey all,

I'm interested in starting a Web-TV show but have absolutely no video editing background...

Unfortunately, I'm also going to need a LAPTOP to do it on...

So any suggestions here would be GREATLY appreciated!

What software is quick and easy to learn, but with decent semi-professional (at least :-P) results?

What specs do I need to run it comfortably? and should i be afraid to raise the dreaded Mac VS. PC argument?

And here's the worst part...whats the best deal for my buck, cause I'm a poor ass university student. And can you guys help me even though I'm in Canada, or are our markets completely different and i"m wasting my time in a UK forum?

You are planning on starting a web tv show? Will you be running this entirely yourself or will others be involved? Have you got a camcorder, a studio (or a room in college to make this show?), lights, microphones, what content are you going to put in the show? Do you have a target audience?

Personally, I think before you start looking at computers and software, is this show do-able? Have you got a service provider and what kind of video file formats will they allow you to upload? I use PC's for my work and if you are only going to put your work on the web then Windows Movie Maker would be fine to start with as you say you have no video editing background. If your show takes off and you become more involved with it, then you can start to look at more complicated software and maybe a higher spec computer.

Red face

Thanks for the reply + tips!