Thread: Desperate For Help!!!!

Default Desperate For Help!!!!

Hello, I am very new to making home movies so suggestions in basic terms would be helpful.
    I am desperately trying to burn DVD's of my childrens birthdays/family gatherings and holidays, I have a mini-dv camcorder and I use a firewire to download footage onto my computer.
    I then use Windows DVD Maker to burn the footage onto DVD's.

Whilst the burning process takes place the dvd gets spat out with only 99% completion and an error message and when I try and watch the dvd it is very juddery and poor and keeps freezing up.

The footage is saved as a WMV file on the computer, the discs I am using are Philips DVD-R 4.7 GB.
    My computer has 48.5 gb of 76.3 gb of memory, it is 511mb RAM and is a 32-bit Operating system (Windows Vista Home Premium).

I have been given all sorts of advice from "not enough memory" to "Vista and Windows DVD Maker are rubbish". All I want is to learn the basics first and then maybe progress onto better software when I can.

PLEASE PLEASE Can you help me!

Default Desperate

I don't have Vista so I can't help from experience, but if you type "windows DVD maker" into google there are a lot of sites giving help and info about how to use it. Don't forget you must use PAL NOT NTSC for your video in the UK. Presumably the software checks to see if the video will fit on a 4.7GB disk? Otherwise you may need a dual layer disk.
    What exactly is the error message?

Thanks for your response, in relation to the error mesage. I will have to note it down next time as I can't remember exactly what it said.
    I will check the sites though, cheer again.

The only software I use to make movie DVDs is Premiere Elements 2. This occasionally fails to burn properly, and the most annoying thing about this is that I have to start the whole process over again.