Thread: Not the PERFECT one... but is this model good enough to edit HD?

Default Not the PERFECT one... but is this model good enough to edit HD?

Hello,

first of all thank you for providing this forum, I am very new to this, having only worked with "Windows Movie Maker".

I want to take a big step up to HD and am going to get one of those new Sony HD cameras. However I will need a new computer probably to keep up with whatever editing software I buy (probably vegas since it's cheap)

I was looking at this computer at NewEgg, it seemed like a good value and got good reviews. My biggest concern is some sort of compatability issue, or maybe it's lacking necessary hardware to get the HD video off the camera and onto the hard drive I really don't know.

Thank you to the forum members who have more expertise than I do, maybe I am asking a stupid question but I don't want to make a critical error with so much money.

Here is the link: Newegg.com - CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 7200 Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 2GB DDR2 500GB NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT Windows Vista Home Premium - Retail

Blog Entries

Cameras - avoid hdv unless you are spending 2000 or more.

Computer - that looks fine but spec it with another drive. Keep progs and xp on one drive, video on the other - this helps keep thins smooth when editing.

It's a cinch to get video into a pc - just play it in thru the f wire port.

Thank you Mark!

I don't think I can spend nearly that much $$$ - the camera I was looking at is one of Sony's new models for the hobbyist I suppose - like the HDR-SR5 or maybe something like the HDR-CX7.

The only thing I'm not sure about is when you say to avoid HDV... is that the format of the video (like AVCHD or MPEG) or is that the physical format (say , tape, hard drive, or memory stick)