Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Canon XM2 - widescreen or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Canon XM2 - widescreen or not?

    That is the question! Some blurb says the XM2 differs from the XM1 in that it has 16:9 (as well as a widescreen frame so you can frame 4:3 stuff and letterbox it) other reviews say it's not true widescreen.

    Can someone with real life experience please explain?
    Tim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the link Mark. So it seems the XM2 is true widescreen (720x576 rectangular pixels)
    Tim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    There's no cropping of the image, no.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bucks
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I'm not sure if I can draw anyones attention back to this post but I have read on another forum that the xm2 is not true widescreen and so when you edit and make it widescreen some of the image quality is lost, as its being cropped?

    I'm confused now.

    Can someone please clarify as I am trying to decide whether to go for the xm2, or not.

    Thanks

    Caline

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    No, I understand that it is not cropped. The XM2 is a very good camera and highly recommended.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    My big jvc is 4:3 - 16:9 cropped.

    If I crop in camera I cant really see any loss - cropping in post is deffo wrose.

    But yes - the xm2 is ' proper job ' - but does it crop 4:3?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bucks
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Thanks for that.
    Well, I finally got tired of reading reviews and getting confused and have just got off the phone from Warehouse express and have a brand spanking new XM2 on its way to me as we speak!!
    Now, I need some advice for a microphone as I understand the built in one isn't too great, and picks up some tape sound?
    What will be the best one for weddings/events at about a 150-200 budget? Was looking at DM50, DM100 or one from the Rode variety. Some advice would be really really appreciated.

    Many thanks

    Caline

    from the canon website:

    16.9 guides - allows accurate 16.9 framing when shooting so that image can be cropped.

    not sure now, but the camera's coming now!! hehe
    Last edited by caline; 11-10-2008 at 06:46 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Yateley, Hampshire
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi Caline

    The Canon website does indeed say

    16.9 guides - allows accurate 16.9 framing when shooting so that image can be cropped.

    From lots of reading I've done (we're thinking of getting an XM2 or Sony DCR-VX2100e for stuff were doing at work), then I think the cropping is done in post, and the pixel count of the chip is plenty high enough to ensure that the W/S aspect ratio of 1280 x 720 is more than catered for, if you get my drift. By my 'back of the envelope' calculations, and even allowing for 400k total pixels (Canon actually quote 470k, I think) then when cropped to W/S proportions, I would expect 2280x1710 pixels. Now I don't claim to be an expert by any stretch of the imagination, and the info is so confusing on all the different models that its taken me all day to get that far, but I'm finally satisfied that both the cameras I mention shoot at 4:3 but are well capable of being cropped to 16:9.

    Which I guess explains why, on all those 'making of' extras you get on a dvd, you see people poring over monitors that are 4:3 format with W/S crop lines on them.

    I use Vegas 6, and the Pan/Crop tool allows auto cropping to the right format, though not sure yet if I can apply it globally to all clips or if it needs to be applied individually.

    At least - that's how I understand it. Hope that helps you, and if anyone else wants to confirm if I'm wright or tell me I'm wrong, I would appreciate it!

Similar Threads

  1. Video shot in widescreen but isn't widescreen when captured
    By Laughing Cheese in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2007, 05:25 AM
  2. Widescreen
    By vegasarian in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2006, 08:35 AM
  3. Why not widescreen?
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 09:14 AM
  4. Why Widescreen Is Bad...
    By moldytoaster in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 10:21 AM
  5. Widescreen help.
    By Tylor in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 09:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •