Thread: Using laptop as a monitor

Default Using laptop as a monitor

Hi everyone,

I am very new to video editing, but I am learning, albeit very slowly.

I have two problems that I would greatly appreciate help in resolving. The two problems are very similar in nature, but I realise that the solutions may be very different for each. I also realise that Problem 2 does not really belong in this thread and my apologies for including it, but I was hoping the answer to problem 1 may also solve problem 2.

Problem 1.

I would like to use my laptop (Dell Inspiron 1520 running Windows XP) to view full screen "live footage" from my JVC mini-dv camcorder. I can view "live" pictures on the laptop screen, but only in a window which will not expand from its tiny 80mm x 65mm size. I have the camcorder connected to the laptop via fire wire cable.

Problem 2.
    I use a Canon 20D digital stills camera. It would be very helpful if I could use my laptop to view full screen each shot immediately after it was taken. The Canon 20D connects to the laptop via USB.

I look forward to receiving your positive feedback and help.

Ian C

2. Default Problems 1 and 2

Hi Ian C

Both problems are related in a sense. To get both your Video to play

Full Screen Video and also the same for your Photos from your digital camera

you are going to to need a couple of programs assuming your laptop has

sufficient memory. Regarding a program for your digital photos, you can get a

free program like Piccasso 2 which is available from the Google web site, this will

also catalogue your photos and can carry out basic corrections.

If you also use a 'search engine' on the web you will probably obtain a free

suitable video editing program which has the option of full screen playback.

If you want to buy a commercial program, then Pinnacle Studio does full screen

Hopes this info helps

Regards Brian

Hi Brian,

Thank you for your reply.