Thread: New to Editing and looking for basic suggestion.

Default New to Editing and looking for basic suggestion.

Hi Guys,

I am very new to editing and capturing and it is just a hobby which I think will turn into a profession, hopefully as I am finding every moment I spent on editing very interesting as it allows me to use my creativity the way i wanted it to be. I have been playing around with vegas 8.0 and recently purchased a HDV Canon HG10. I am currently working on a 1 hour long b-day video which was shot very poorly by me as I was shooting it very casually not thinking about doing any editing whatsoever until last week. Anyways, I managed to do some very basic editing such as intro, Title, and songs and some slow-mo and very basic effects and to be honest it looks very boring and dull. However, I wasn't completly disappointed as this was my very first trial and it took me 2 days and a lot of reading on forums and tutorials. I know I can make it look amazing and its just a matter of time now. I am trying to give it a dvd some what like a film feel to it but I am not sure if vegas will allow me to do so. I was wondering if I really need to use After Effects for certain editing requirement or will vegas be able to allow me to do effects such as 3D Text and other things such as Andrew Kramer has shown in his tutorials VideoCopilot.net Video Tutorials & Post Production. It's hard enough as it is to learn Vegas let alone go through the learning curve for AE. Eventuallly I plan on doing it, but due to the time constraint, it is not possible for me to devote too much time to learning various softwares. I work full-time and will be getting married during May 2008 and although I have a professional videographer, I want to edit my own wedding video in near future and give it an even better look. So main question is, will Vegas 8.0 provide me with all the effects that can be produced using AE or is it necessary to learn AE as well?