Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Rendering for architect!

  1. Default Rendering for architect!

    Hello!

    So, when rendering for DVD architect with Sony Vegas 6.
    Do I choose the "Defualt template" (first choice in the rendering window)?
    Or do I choose "PAL DV"?

    PAL DV makes a smaller file and works with architect.
    Architect compress it to MPEG-2 and burns it on a dvd.
    Defualt template, as I figure, should be my exact settings right?
    Makes one hell of a file but maybe I get better quality this way?

    Anyways, would be great with an answer!
    Thaaaaaaanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I usually use the MPEG2 DVD Architect PAL widescreen video stream and AC3 for the audio.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Andy's approach is generally accepted as the "norm" if you're making DVDs. You're better off encoding as MPEG2 from within Vegas - the DVDA job then becomes trivial. Just ensure you create your .mpg and .ac3 files with exactly the same name (except extension, of course)

    If you're ditching the project after creating your DVDs OR if you might want to create another format (eg a wmv or mov) then you might want to create an AVI of the whole movie, then create your MPEG2/AC3 from that. This will give you a less compressed & more manageable source for the other formats (thanks to Grazie for that advice).

    Using PAL DV or PAL DV widescreen is usually sufficient - this is, after all, the same compression that your camera used if your source was MiniDV (and higher quality if your source was any other standard def format.
    The ONLY reasons I can see for using Default (which is uncompressed - hence the huge file sizes) is if you're passing this to some fancy effects program that prefers/works only with uncompressed footage OR if you need to create a file with an alpha (transparent) channel.
    Tim

  4. Default

    I suspected that!
    I`ll go with PAL DV and make it MPEG 2 automaticlly within DVD Architect.
    Now i dont have to wait a year for a uncompressed file to render just to get a unnoticeble quality difference.

    Thanks a lot!

  5. #5

    Default

    Your better off renering in vegas if you render in dvda you can not chose vbr. DVDA only has a contant bitrate option. if you render in vegas the quility will be a lot better.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  6. Default

    Dont I need codecs for rendering directly for DVD in Vegas?
    All I got is Vegas 6 and Architect 4.5. Editing-computer is not
    touching Internet. I want to do it as non-complicated as possible.

    If I dont need anything more.
    Witch settings should i use?

    Thanks sooo much for the replys by the way.

  7. #7

    Default

    You got V6 and DVDA4.5? Now THAT'S an interesting combo - ain't heard of that before?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by storhuvve View Post
    Dont I need codecs for rendering directly for DVD in Vegas?
    All I got is Vegas 6 and Architect 4.5. Editing-computer is not
    touching Internet. I want to do it as non-complicated as possible.

    If I dont need anything more.
    Witch settings should i use?

    Thanks sooo much for the replys by the way.
    As long as you have vegas registered, you should not have a problem. What the length of you video? Your VBR settings will depend on that.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by storhuvve View Post
    ....So, when rendering for DVD architect with Sony Vegas 6.....
    Quote Originally Posted by storhuvve
    ...I'll go with PAL DV and make it MPEG 2 automaticlly within DVD Architect.
    To clear up my statement (I'm confused by yours seeing the above quotes) - I never render in DVDa. The results are better and Vegas is far more flexible. It also means the DVD is prepared much, much quicker.
    Last edited by Andy Lockwood; 02-11-2008 at 04:05 PM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Yes, Andy, I am more than confused - if that is possible? -

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DVD architect
    By Braden in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-05-2007, 04:06 PM
  2. Hey, Anybody know DVD ARCHITECT??
    By thefedexpope in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 06:53 AM
  3. dvd architect
    By blyx in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 12:15 PM
  4. DVD Architect 3.0 help
    By pap3rcut in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-20-2005, 08:19 AM
  5. Rendering times in Vegas Video 4: rendering video smoothly
    By Ronoc in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 02:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •