Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Converting NTSC Project to PAL?

  1. #1

    Default Converting NTSC Project to PAL?

    Hi, for some reason (dumbness perhaps!) the project I have completed is in NTSC even though I only ever started in PAL so I must have made a mistake (unless its a bug!!). Anyway does anyone know how to change the setting so my project is in PAL and not NTSC (video is PAL) using Pro (not v1.5)

    Cheers
    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Just thinking out loud cos I've never tried this and don't have it in front of me here at work but...

    ...assuming you can't just change the setting then try creating a new project with PAL settings and then importing the old project into it.

    This is the only technique I've heard of for changing this kind of project setting and it won't trash your original.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Millsy, I remember you saying that the project settings file is in XML. I also rember creating a new project settings wizard for someone that wanted a framerate of 40fps by changing every occurence of a string of characters by trial and error (I compared a PAL settings file to an NTSC one, saw what code string differed (it was a series of numbers) and reduced/increased the numbers until the framerate was changed).

    So here's what I'm getting at: open up your projects settings in an XML editor (probably best to use notepad), then take a look to see if you can find the framerate and resolution settings. Save as another document and play around with these. Upon up in Premiere.

    I'd be happy to take a look at your file if Millsy's suggestion doesn't work!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    So here's what I'm getting at: open up your projects settings in an XML editor (probably best to use notepad), then take a look to see if you can find the framerate and resolution settings. Save as another document and play around with these. Upon up in Premiere.
    Although Marc did hint at it, I want to emphasise in the strongest terms...

    SAVE A COPY FIRST! before trying the above.

    It's actually a bloody good idea though Marc. Hope it works.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi, thanks for the tip. I will take a look tonight (make a backup first though!!) and see if I can locate the settings.

    I will let you know how I get on.

    Thanks again
    Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If you can't its' not a problem... just render to the correct settings on output :0)

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi, looked thru the file (long 10,000k) and found lots of references to aspect ratio (648,720 or something similar) but no obvious refs to NTSC or PAL for that matter.

    I cannot change the output type as it does not allow me to, perhaps it is because I had to specify what standard I was using when I installed the Canopus software (Storm2 pro) which I did as pal and now when I try to use the canopus encoder it comes up with an encoder board error which from experience from premier 6.5 and this card simply means you are trying to output to MPEG in NTSC when it should be PAL or vice versa. The Softmpeg used to tell you that you were trying to render a project in NTSC which you specified as PAL when you created it originally (nasty error reporting on behalf of canopus encoder card there!)

    Any other ideas? Can I import the timeline?

    Rgds
    Jim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Email the project file to me

Similar Threads

  1. After effects project in premier project
    By division in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 08:27 AM
  2. Converting PAL to NTSC DVD
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 02:07 PM
  3. converting from pal to ntsc
    By cmag13 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-28-2005, 05:16 AM
  4. Converting NTSC to PAL
    By Arthur Baker in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 07:47 AM
  5. converting to pal from ntsc
    By kingalfred in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 05:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •