Thread: need batteries for old panasonic video camera

Default need batteries for old panasonic video camera

Hi folks, hope you can find the time to help an absolute noob!
    My partner and i recently got our hands on 2 Panasonic SVHS 625 broadcast quality video cameras which have neither batteries nor manuals, and can't find anywhere on the net that stocks them.
    Do any of you know where we could get some, or maybe know someone who has some spares they'd be willing to part with?

2. Default Batteries for Panasonic S-VHS Camcorder

You don't say what Model No your S-VHS Camcorders are, but it doesn't really matter because they all used 6volt sealed lead acid batteries. The originals or 'pattern replacements are virtually impossible to get now, but their is an easy

Go to your nearest motorcycle dealer and get a small sealed scooter or lightweight motorcycle sealed 6 volt Battery. Find a suitable sized zipped pouch or suitable bag, fit some belt loops on the back. Then order a minature two pin plug and socket, NOTE- it must not be reversable, one pin should be larger than the other,so polarity cannot be reversed.

You should be able to connect the other end of your supply voltage lead with a compatible plug into the external socket used for putting in the original battery charger.

If you have no Panasonic Battery charger, buy a very small battery charger that has both 12v and 6v tappings. These can be bought at most car or motor cycle
    accessory shops. Hopes this gives you a solution to your problem.

Regards Brian

Thanks Brian, that sounds do-able! Don't know if i made it clear in my original post though, they're not camcorders, they're proper shoulder mounted video cameras like a news team uses. Would it still be possible to do what you said with them? We've got the original chargers, basically we have everything that should be with them except batteries and manuals.

4. Thumbs up Panasonic ENG Camcorder

Hi Creosote