Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Error Message in Encore DVD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campbeltown, Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Error Message in Encore DVD

    Me again,

    I have been following the 'Classroom in a book' about DVD Encore. When I go to 'Build DVD' on completing the project I get an exclamation box saying
    "Sorry, an abnormal condition has been detected. Before quitting, you have one chance to save your project (Don't use the same name as the original".

    Then there is just the option of cliking the OK box......no further info as the what the abnormal condition is !!!

    Any ideas appreciated

    Dave Livingstone
    Thanks for helping

    Pentium 4, 2 x 3.2 Xeons, 2 gb ECC registered, 1 scsi 36 GB, 2 x 250 Gb IDE, Matrox RT X100 xtreme pro, win xp pro. (Poweroid 9220) Canon XM2 Mini DV Camcorder

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Create a DVD image (File > Build DVD > Make DVD Image), then burn this in Nero (of your favoured burning application).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campbeltown, Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Thanks Marc

    I gather from your reply that although DVD Encore is a good authoring program it isn't the best for burning DVDs ? or it doesn't support particular DVD burners ?

    Thanks anyway - I'll give it a go !
    Thanks for helping

    Pentium 4, 2 x 3.2 Xeons, 2 gb ECC registered, 1 scsi 36 GB, 2 x 250 Gb IDE, Matrox RT X100 xtreme pro, win xp pro. (Poweroid 9220) Canon XM2 Mini DV Camcorder

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campbeltown, Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Same problem

    Sorry Marc,

    Tried your advice,but get the same error message.

    I know the DVD burner works 'cause I use it to back up other data etc.

    Any more ideas - Please ?
    Thanks for helping

    Pentium 4, 2 x 3.2 Xeons, 2 gb ECC registered, 1 scsi 36 GB, 2 x 250 Gb IDE, Matrox RT X100 xtreme pro, win xp pro. (Poweroid 9220) Canon XM2 Mini DV Camcorder

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campbeltown, Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Problem solved

    Anyone who's interested - have resolved the problem by downloading a patch from the Adobe site.

    Thanks to all
    Thanks for helping

    Pentium 4, 2 x 3.2 Xeons, 2 gb ECC registered, 1 scsi 36 GB, 2 x 250 Gb IDE, Matrox RT X100 xtreme pro, win xp pro. (Poweroid 9220) Canon XM2 Mini DV Camcorder

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Cool! I was about to type "check the website for updates" this morning, but got sidetracked I've got a nice shinny version of 1.5 now

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Marc and others, watch out for the 'other' DVD writign bug in Encore 1.5. For some burners, it will only write at 1x speed.

    The work around here is to produced the image on your HDD and burnin using Nero again - which is what I do anyway cos I never know how many copies I might want

  8. #8

    Default

    Hey Millsy,

    I use the same method of burning an image and then using Roxio DVD Builder to make my DVDs. I haven’t upgraded to Encore 1.5 because of the price. Is it really that much of an improvement over 1.0?

    James

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by James
    Hey Millsy,

    I use the same method of burning an image and then using Roxio DVD Builder to make my DVDs. I haven’t upgraded to Encore 1.5 because of the price. Is it really that much of an improvement over 1.0?

    James
    In truth, I don't know. I got a freebie upgrade as part of my Matrox RTX100 card. I haven't built a DVD since I did the upgrade. I've been busy working on other things.

    I'm not throwing disks out every week. I'm just a hobby editor and might make a handfull of new disks each year.

    The main differences, which are nice on paper of course, are

    1) Lots of bug fixes - apparently;
    2) Introduction of a 'play list' button. handy, but you could already do it with a little effort anyway; and
    3) Modified library functions for better organisation.

  10. #10

    Default

    Thanks,

    I’m going to stick with 1.0 for the time being. When you do get around to using it, maybe you could post what you think about the update.

    James

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Error message
    By Ron in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 09:06 PM
  2. Error Message HELP!!!!
    By egtunon in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2006, 06:45 PM
  3. Pinnacle Studio error message: “Error opening video file”
    By emto in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 06:24 AM
  4. Unusal Encore Error message
    By Chris in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2004, 06:02 AM
  5. new user with error message
    By harveydean in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 11:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •