Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How did you get started?

Default How did you get started?

Hi all, I've been lurking here for a while, reading posts, watching demos generally in a state of awe. I've been interested in getting involved in (wedding) videography for quite a while but so far have been unable to start due to the (relatively) prohibitative startup costs. I am an amature videographer but am very keen to take the next step.

I'd love to hear how you all got started, how you financed your business etc. and basically would appreciate any advice.

Thanks for reading.
    Ed

The Creative Cow has some great articles by industry leaders
    Creative COW Business Articles

Check out the multi part article by Walter Biscardi, very good.

For me it was easy, people found me, I wasn't looking for work.

Post samples of your work for people to see, post in forums like this, get the word out.
    Mostly you will need examples of what you can do, a video portfolio so to speak.
    Even if these are just slideshows to start with, show some creativity and do some things that are out of the ordinary.

There are some great examples in the Gallery at muvipix.com
    Check out the 2005, 2006 and 2007 contest videos to start with, especially the winners.
    They will give you some ideas to work with and show you some things that will make a video unique and fresh.

Thanks very much for that Chuck, some excellent links and advice there, definitly some food for thought.
    Any other startup stories?

When someone mentions filming weddings, I generally used to run a mile and keep going. However, I was talked into doing one for a friend recently and really enjoyed the whole experience (apart from getting a ticking off from the vicar for not being still enough)

My background is far more bands, entertainers and suchlike but also do family get togethers and parties because people almost expect me to be there with a camera now.