Thread: DVD pause and freeze

Question DVD pause and freeze

I have a video capture card (All in Wonder- 9000) that I use to save various TV shows that want to keep. I save them at the highest quality I can get and then use Video Redo plus to edit and save them in MPEG format. I then use Sony DVD architect to creat the DVD for use in my DVD Player. I use DVD-R media made by Sony but when it plays the video hangs and freezes. When I play the video from the MPEG format with my computer it plays fine. Are there parameters that need to be set that I am not doing. I have it set to NTSC. I am new at this and need some help. Thanks

At first I thought you might be trying to work with copy protected television movie or other content cause when you try to capture that kind of content it doesn't work well and when you try to play it the picture freezes and jerks and does other weird stuff.

You say that after you render your video as NTSC mpeg2 it plays well on your computer. What viewer program are you using to watch it?

Since you have a dvd drive in your pc how does your disc play in the drive that "burned" it? I mean that after the disc is completed can you play the dvd in your computer's drive? Like with WinDVD or PowerDVD or whatever players you have on your Hard Drive.

How old is the dvd player that is failing to read your dvd? What is its' make and model?

When I first started editing and creating my own home movie dvds some years ago I often found dvd players that would not play my discs while others played them great and I have captured and edited and burned hundreds of hours of analog and DV video using my old and trusty 7000 series ATI all-in-wonder PCI card. The 7000 series cards with their firewire capable dongle actually capture better than the 8000 and 9000 series.

Are you using component or S-Video or firewire as input to your video capture card?