Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sony firewire problems again.

  1. #1

    Default Sony firewire problems again.

    After reading the many entries in this informative forum about sony camera firewire fails I am convinced my camera also has developed the problem.
    I cannot get it to go in at least two different PC's.
    It seems this problem is common with all sony digital cameras, however there is not much else on the market to equal the performance of sony.

    USB still works however there are problems there that I have not yet worked out.

    If I use the sony programme imagemixer 1.5 I get a message saying it has run out of HDD space. Thats after I set the drive that has 50gig spare to the max of 5000MB . I use mpg as a save system with max resolution and want to copy about an hour to my PC.

    Since the fail I have also tried to use my studio 9.4 programme and it all works on USB except no audio, and I have tried a few different settings with a nil result.
    I record in PAL on the camera and have used it many times, great camera until this fail.

    Has anyone ever managed to get a price on fixing it?

    Also any suggestions on how to record with either imagemixer or studio 9 using USB will be very much appreciated.

    Incidently I have tried installing another firewire card in both the computer systems wth similar results.
    Main XP PRO computer system is an INTEL board DP965LT with on board firewire running a couple of 250gig HDD's 2gig memory with a duo INTEL CPU etc.

    Looking forward to hearing from anyone who can assist.

    Northern angler
    Townsville
    Australia


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    "It seems this problem is common with all sony digital cameras"

    I dont think is particularly a sony issue. Good practice with luggng or unplugging anything to f wire is to do it with the cam off (not implyng this is your fault).

    I have broken one sony camera f wire port - but that was cos i tripped over the lead....

    "USB still works however there are problems there that I have not yet worked out."

    Give up - USB never ever ever captures at full res / bit rate. It is only meant for still capture.

    " I use mpg as a save system with max resolution and want to copy about an hour to my PC. "

    This may be a big mistake. Depending on the mpg settings you may be hugely expanding the file size, hence the error.

    ALWAYS capture and edit shot clips in thier native format - DV

  3. Default Sony Firewire failures

    Hi Mark,
    Regarding all the recent posts about the Sony Camcorders having

    Firewire Connection failures or'Burnouts'. Because that is exactly what happens if

    the Computer is on, and the Camcorder is switched on before the firewire cable

    is connected. A voltage potential difference exists for a few milliseconds which is

    sufficient to cause the 'Burn-out' of the cam's connection.

    Your suggestion of making the Firewire connection before switching the cam on

    does go some way to avoiding this problem.

    The real solution is the insertion of a voltage suppression device coupled

    between the camcorder and computer. Such a device is readily available and is

    manufactured by the German company Kramer model no PT-1FW. It has a 6pin

    firewire socket at each end of the device,giving protection of 15kv, 24 amp peak

    for 20 nanoseconds. The device is available in this country, and although not

    cheap at 69.00 gives complete protection to any model when connecting to

    Computer Socket.

    The unit is available at the price quoted under Ref no PT1FW from Keen

    Electronics at Long Eaton, Derbyshire , Tel 0870 990 9000.


    Best Regards

    Brian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I remain suspicious that this is little more than internet hysteria.

    I have owned 5 sony cameras and i never follow my own advice - I always hot swap my cameras, and like I said - the only one I broke I tripped over the lead.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    ..I remain suspicious that this is little more than internet hysteria.....
    Not so sure Mark - so many folk seem to experience it. I used to hot swap without a second thought (always Sony) but stopped after we started seeing all the messages. Now I'm very careful - I don't want to risk it and shag up a camera or the PC. The product Snobbie mentions seems ok on the face of it - but I wonder if it guarantees it'll never happen? If not, seventy ish quid seems a lot...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I feel another silly video coming on....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    I feel another silly video coming on....
    Oh yes, do it.... I can see the Zaskar sales pitch for it right now!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I've fried a DV connection - narrowed it down to a cheap firewire cable.

  9. Default Re DV input socket failures

    Further to my post about the Kramer DV line protector Model No PT-1FW. I have

    'No axe to grind' regarding this unit. Anyone seeking further info has only to

    phone Keene Electronics at 870 990 9000 or on the web at -

    Keene Electronics

    and request a copy of their comprehensive Catalogue which is completely Free.

    Best regards Brian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snobbie45 View Post
    .....'No axe to grind' regarding this unit.....
    Don't misunderstand Brian - I wasn't implying you had.... just making an observation, that's all.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems connecting a camcorder via firewire.
    By OM2 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 12:32 PM
  2. Sony Firewire (i.link) Problems, anybody?
    By hoppipolla in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 10:22 AM
  3. JVC DV / Firewire problems
    By glenn11 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 10:05 AM
  4. Firewire Cable Problems
    By selfyselfy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 07:30 PM
  5. Firewire card problems
    By Phlibbit in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 06:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •