Thread: Semi Transparent Border?

Default Semi Transparent Border?

How can you do the Semi Transparent Border like this one <----

in Sony Vegas!!! I tried to find out myself but didn't succeed. Thanks in advance!

Sydney, this had been for me one of the deeply-iest ( not a word I know!) perplexing FX to get the way I've wanted it. Both in terms of the WAY it looked and the WORKFLOW I use. Added to which, any complex FX-ing, Border FX is a mare when it comes to being greedy with the CPU, consequently the PC takes a Preview hit.

Previously I've tried:

A] Applying Border FX directly to an Event. But the selection of either SOLID or BLURRED didn't get me what I wanted . ..

. . so I would have too ..

B] Double-Trouble! Doubling up tracks and setting Border FX seemed too clumsy and potentially prone to Event misalignment - I AM a clumsy editor!

. . so I would try using a Border FX as part of a

C] Keep it in the family: Parent/Child combo ( the workflow is starting to look sensible . . )

1) Track 1 Blank - don't place ANYTHING in this

2) Track 2 (T2) Video Event

3) Make T2 a Child to Track 1 (T1) - Click on the UP/DOWN arrow Icon in the Track Header.

4) Apply Border FX to T1 using SOLID; Size 0.133; Dragging down the Alpha slider ( yes there IS an Alpha slider in Border) to obtain the translucency required

. . still looking too solid? OK . .

5) Apply Gaussian Blur FX to T1 and adjust Horizontal and Vertical range to around 0.015

Now that should look good. It does here.

. . ok . . here's ANOTHER way . .

D] "Make yer Own Border!" - (. .and here's One I Did Previously - with sticky-backed plastic . . )

1) T1 - Add Solid White Generated Media Colour

2) T2 your Video Event