Thread: Options for video to web?

Default Options for video to web?

I am a complete newbie to video editing and to this forum, which looks to be packed full of knowledgeable people, so hope I've come to the right place.

I want to start putting video interviews on my website. I have a top end Mac and and older version of Final Cut Pro (5.1).

I have just starting exploring the software and don't really have the time or money to invest in any other software.

My question is: what is the best way to display my videos on the website? I just want to reach the widest possible audience. Should I use Quicktime, or Flash or something else?

Thanks

Blog Entries

I am not a fan of q time as the player only has limited functionality unless you pay.

Flash is very portable and hardish to d load and copy but i dont use it myself so cant really comment further.

.wmv can give very good results at 'streamable' bit rates, about 1mbit. The player is prestty ubiquatous and is available freee for mac users. Easy to copy

divx is looking better and better with the new streming player but many people will not have the s ware player installed. Easy to copy.

In the guides section there is a guide to using wmv what i did so it is very good obviously...

thanks Mark

My only problem with wmv is that being a mac user it doesnt play automatically. You have to download an application called flip4mac before you can play it. OK for me to do, but what about the average non-tech mac user?

Thinking some more about flash, don't all browsers have flash players now, so wouldnt that be the most ubiquitous format? Think that's what they use at uTube.

What are the downsides to using Flash again? Not sure what you mean about 'hardish to download and copy'?

Chris

Blog Entries

I suppose anything put on the web is easy to copy if u really want to but flash is probably the least easy - I cant really comment more as I dont use it but you are right about it's ease of playing across platforms.