Thread: New to Vegas, should I use Vegas or something else????

Default New to Vegas, should I use Vegas or something else????

Hello Guys,

I am very new to video editing and just recently purchased a Canon HG10 camcorder and I always liked photography and videography but I never got into the editing part until recently. I have been reading many guides and looking at some tutorials. Since I am starting out and am veru new to this, I was thinking if I should be using sony vegas pro 8.0b which I have downloaded as a trial for 30 days. At the moment just playing around with it for an hour or so, it seems complicated but should I be using this software or something else. Is Sony Vegas suppose to be more of an advanced user software? I have downloaded other trials too such as adobe premiere, Ulead visual studios but I would rather start and stick with one software instead of going through several of them.

What do you guys think or suggest would be better for me?

Thank you in advance for your input.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Vegas is one of the simpler of the more feature rich packages. Everything is simple once you get to grips with how it works. I came to Vegas, like many others, from Pinnacle - arguably THE simplest to learn NLE with features beyond Windows Movie Maker (it was also unarguable THE flakiest NLE available at the time - hence the change). So, I had to unlearn what I'd learned and learn the Vegas way. In the process I also learned the basics of doing things the Premiere way. I didn't like the cluttered screen of the Adobe product, but I'm sure I could have got my mind around it if I stuck with it. What I liked about Vegas was you can do as much or as little as you like (read: as complex or as simple a task as you like) but only the things you're interested in need be on the screen.