I'm sure the question "which camera?" comes up quite a lot

So, with an apology in advance, I am asking it again.

I have very little technical knowledge about video cameras. I'm pretty good at filming because I have directed in the past, over ten years ago, for some TV companies. However then of course there was a full crew and so almost no technical knowledge was needed from me. I just needed a good idea as to story, shots required, framing, overall style required etc.

I'm doing a postgraduate course at University now and for the dissertation and some other aspects of the course I will be doing a lot of filming. This of course will all be done by myself without a nice crew.

I'm looking forward to this very much as I have been doing some already with the University's cameras and additional equipment. I think, in fact I prefer doing it all myself.

I do have quite a lot of other filming I want to do outside the course (the bug has bitten) and when I come to do my dissertation it will be much easier to have my own camera than use the University's because I have to keep returning the University camera back every 24 hours.

So I want to buy a camera and the question is, which one?

I've been googling a lot and reading various things and talking to people with more knowledge about this than me (not difficult!).

A friend who did a video dissertation project last year suggested:

Sony DCR-VX2100E

This can be bought for 1369.95 incl vat from here.

I don't wish to spend more than 1500.

The video cameras I have been using at the university are not HDV, they are simply standard DV, as I think it is called. I think the Sony DCR-VX2100E is a standard DV camera as well. I'm wondering if I should explore the possibility of an HDV camera?

Browsing the web, I see that this one the Sony HVR-HD1000U is HDV and perhaps rather cool. I notice it elsewhere called Sony HVR-HD1000E but I don't know the difference an E makes over a U

Another camera that I've noticed is the: