Thread: Filming a full moon?

Default Filming a full moon?

Hi there.
    I am a complete novice at all of this and only have a fairly average camera, but I was wondering if it is possible to somehow capture the essence of a full moon for a music clip I am trying to create. (Just for fun and creativity sakes!)
    What I would really like is to capture a shot of a woman in a white dress, in a clearing, standing with arms upraised to the moon with the moons light reflecting on her face.
    Is this even vaguely possible to do?
    I've tried filming in my backyard but even though the moonlight LOOKS so bright, everything ends up dark and murky.
    Trying to capture the moon itelf seems impossible also as it bulges in and out.
    Any ideas?

My reading of your plan is that it sounds like a movie shot, what I mean is that it will have to be staged. I don't understand what you mean when you say it bulges in and out? I've taken video of a new moon rising when it's all orange and eerie looking and it looks alright, so could you explain that. Depending on what software you have you might be able to get a really good close up of the moon (depending on the zoom size on your camera) and then combine it will your female talent standing with her arms out. Will she have her back to the camera for the entire shot or will you be cutting/dissolving to a shot of her face with the moonlight on it?

Hi. Thanks for your response
    Actually it's for a music video I am "attempting" to put together.
    The song is called "Drawing down the moon", hence the woman with arms upraised towards a full moon.
    I'm probably trying to do the impossible because my camera, compared with what I'm sure a lot of people on this forum have, would be laughable :(
    I did some reading here throughout the forum and thought perhaps the "bulging" in and out thing might be because I had the camera on automatic focus (I told you I'm a complete novice, lol!)