Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help a complete noob!!

Default Help a complete noob!!

I have quite a few DV tapes that I want to transfer to DVD. I have a Vista PC and a Sony DCR-HC39E. I read Sonys tech support page and realised that I need Firewire. I bought a PCI Firewire card and installed it but it would not pick up the camera, I emailed the manufacturer and they advised me that the card was not Vista compliant. Also is the Sony software or the Vista moviemaker suitable for a noob who is going to try basic editting?Can anyone reccomend a firewire card that is compliant as I can not find one.
    Thank you

I installed a PCI Firewire card in a Vista computer and it picked it up right away after restarting. It is a non descript card called a SOHO1394 and I didn't need to do anything to make it work. Check in System -> Hardware -> Device Manager to see if there is a IEEE 1394 Bus Host Controller, if it isn't listed, it may be a dud card or it may not be seated properly in the PCI slot.

Hi, That is exactly what I did, and checking the system showed the card was present, however upon plugging the cable into the camera and card the computer could not see it. The card was a firewire / USB combo, and the USB slots seemed to work fine!

Hate to be completely silly, but did you remember to switch the camera to 'PLAY'?
    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.