Thread: burn question from newbie

Default burn question from newbie

Hi,
    I'm a newbie with Vegas (version 8.0) and I'm trying to burn my first dvd from my .veg project. When I choose Burn Disc (Video CD) from the Tools Menu, the only option that appears in the format box is Main Concept MPEG-1. The template is VCD NTSC and the description is Video 29.97 fps, 352x240. I cannot see how I can change the resolution in order to increase the quality of the final product.
    Any hint greatly appreciated, I volonteered to record the Christmas show at the kindergarden and tons of parents are now running after me for the DVD!! Please help me!
    Patrick
    P.S. camcorder is a Sony HDR-SR7

If you wanted to burn a VCD then that was exactly what you want to do.

Now, if you want to burn DVDs, first you need to prepare your finished footage as MPEG2, not MPEG1. Secondly you will need to author a DVD Menu and use the MPEG2s you produced from within Vegas. You cannot burn a DVD directly from VegasPro8. You prepare your footage FOR then authoring within an DVD authoring package. Sony has DVDArchitect for this. But a long time ago I used DVDWorkshop another DVD authoring package to do this. In fact you can ALSO prepare AVIs for MPEG2 and so on within Sony's DVDA or another authoring package.

So, you have many options. But burning a DVD straight from within SonyVEgasPro8 aint one of them!

Here's my workflow :

From within VegasPro8

1] - Finish project

2] - Create/render a full AVI version of the project for final proofing and archival purposes.

3] - Create/render from the full AVI version AND SAME NAME AND FOLDER a "Save type as" ( and this from the dropdown templates) "Mainconcept MPEG2" AND the "Template" for "DVD Architect PAL video stream" ( here you would choose your local NTSC standard - yeah) - this will produce a "silent" MPEG2 of the project.