Thread: Question: Video Conversion for Dummies...

Default Question: Video Conversion for Dummies...

Is there a program, or a set of concise guidelines, that helps to determine the optimal way to convert video from a given format (and associated parameters, bit rate, frequency, etc.), to a new format? For example, if I have videos captured on a Palm Treo 650 in .3gpp (MPEG-4 Part 2 or H.263) format (288x352 resolution, 8.31 fps - average fps I guess (?), it's apparently variable, see "Example" below..). For example, if I wanted to convert the video to .avi format (see the input parameters listed under "Example" below), what parameters would I use (for example, note that the input file seems to have variable frame rate, but that's not an option in SUPER! from what I have experienced...)?

I'm a DV novice, so I generally use Windows Movie Maker for editing, and SUPER! for video conversion. I typically use a Canon Elura 100, and store the video in it's original full quality .AVI format as imported, but it's the unusual, low-quality video one gets from digital cameras, phones, web video, etc. that leaves me puzzled.

I'm really looking for a software solution, or a concise table, or a webpage where you can enter input format, and get suggestions for output format and parameters, etc. I'm not looking for more reading material or website FAQs, I've got plenty of that!

Thanks in advance!

- dasinmd

Example (full parameters of aforementioned video as determined by SUPER!):

Video #0
    Codec : H.263
    Codec/Info : H.263 (3GPP)
    PlayTime : 40s 558ms
    Bit rate : 214 Kbps
    Width : 352 pixels
    Height : 288 pixels
    Aspect ratio : 1.222
    Frame rate : 7.964 fps
    Minimum frame rate : 2.732 fps
    Maximum frame rate : 12.500 fps
    StreamSize : 1.03 MiB

N. florida

Do a google for a free transcode utility called mediacoder. I recall I found it recommended on the Kim Kommando website.