Thread: Editing VOB IFO and BUP in Ulead 10

Default Editing VOB IFO and BUP in Ulead 10

I have VOB IFO and BUP files that I have downloaded from a DVD onto my computer. When put them into ULEAD I can see them they start but then the video freezes, the sound continues, and then it jumps to another section of the video. It then repeats the above.
    Any advice on what is going on and what to do. I'm pretty new to all this
    Thanks in advance

REMEMBER that it is a Federal Crime to copy and use commercial movie dvd content.

Beyond the legalities and I am not a lawyer technically:

You've probably already done this but if not remember that commercial movie content must be decrypted before you can load it into an editing program like ULead Version 10.

I think you can still google free downloads of utilities like Decrypt or DVDShrink (that included Decrypt) that will remove the copy encryption from your movies and then it saves them as .vob decrypted files.

ULead Video Studio 10 will recognize and support editing of non-encrypted vob files so then you should be able to slice and dice and edit the files and then render them out as whatever file format you want.
    goodluck

Smile Response to Imjay

Hi Imjay I don't think I am commiting any crime as it is video footage of my family.
    However do you think that I still need to decrypt the files that I have copied from the DVD.
    The reason they are on DVD even though we have the original tapes is because we no longer have that camera. It belonged to a friend and he now lives in US. So we had no way of even looking at the tapes until a chap tranferred them onto a disc for us. You can't get that kind of camera anywhere in NZ.
    I'd like to know what you think many thanks

Hi
    I didn't for a minute think you were doing anything illegal and wouldn't care if you were - sometimes I throw out that little disclaimer to protect us all before helping someone understand how to decrypt encrypted material.