Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dsr450 firewire record back onto tape??

  1. #1

    Default dsr450 firewire record back onto tape??

    Hi All,

    I have a dsr 450 which has firewire out but not in (ie doesn't record back onto tape from computer). Does anyone know if there is an upgrade/fix to enable recording back onto tape please?

    Thanks, and Happy new Year

    Peter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I would ahve thought this is possible - have you asked sony? Or try creative video.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Why do you wish to record back onto tape? It is a very fragile medium and one quick jerk when you are rewinding it can either pull the tape out of one of the reels or snap the tape. Also if you put it into storage for a long period of time a mould or is it a fungus or bacteria (should have paid attention in science class) can begin to grow on it. If the video is of a precious nature then export an avi file and either save it onto your computer hard disk or an external hard disk so you will at least have that copy in the future.

  4. #4

    Default

    True, but you can't feed material (uplink) direct from the computer or from a disc using broadcast technologies in use at present, needs to be in tape format.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    You plan to broadcast your material, on tv or the internet? I suppose if you are into making your own programmes then tape would be the way to go; but if you are supplying a tv station with material they prefer to edit the raw scenes themselves or 'lift' the material off and make their own cut. If it is the internet, would it not be easier to render an avi file on the computer and upload it from there?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ipswich , UK
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi, I know it's an old string but did you ever solve the DV-in question for the DSR-450? I need to know as I would like to shoot and edit on location usind firestore without having to carry an extra recorder.
    Cheers
    John

Similar Threads

  1. Please help- my edited movie won't output back to tape
    By Ang in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 09:34 PM
  2. exporting back on to dv tape from AE
    By innocent_bystander in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 07:52 PM
  3. record a pc with another pc!
    By stumppy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 08:23 PM
  4. Editing & authoring back to back comparisons??
    By Perdix in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2005, 02:48 PM
  5. Help please! I can't record my edited video onto DV tape
    By vanessasimpson in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 06:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •