Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Theres a point Im obviously missing!

  1. #1
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default Theres a point Im obviously missing!

    Theres a point Im obviously missing! Throughout this forum the general consensus is tape is better than hard drive, but I needed an explanation of why?

    I connect my Panasonic GS-55 via firewire to my ASUS laptop using Sony Vegas for capturing and the definition is outstanding, and when I film the same scene, under the same conditions with the video data going to tape, the quality is noticeably lower.

    Now theres one additional step that I didnt mention; after recording to tape, I firewire into my desktop or laptop and like I mentioned the quality is much lower.

    So my question is simple, please explain to me why tape is better, and please also understand that Im not trying to be controversial within this well managed forum, just after an answer to a nagging question Ive had for some time.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hard drive and DVD camaras record directly to mpeg-2 which is a highly compressed codec. When you capture from the tape are you capturing to AVI or mpeg? AVI will always give the better image and there lies the disadvantage of HDD and DVD camaras. Now if your using a 3ccd HDD cam and a 1ccd Mini-DV cam the HDD will come out looking a bit better, but comparing 3ccd to 3ccd or 1 ccd to 1 ccd, the tape will always win. I hope that helps clear things up a bit.
    W
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default

    Wil, your response was received with much appreciation, and makes logical sense from what Im doing as compared to the technology of HDD and DVD cameras.

    Thanks for your time and clearly understood explanation.

  4. #4

    Default

    Your very welcome. I'm glad I could help.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    When you set up a new project in let's say Adobe Premiere, there is a DV setting and to give it it's full nom de plume, it's Microsoft DV II AVI, or words to that effect m'lud.

    EDIT - I never thought I'd find myself saying something good about Microsoft...

Similar Threads

  1. Overlay following a certain point in a clip
    By YatZee in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-10-2007, 06:51 PM
  2. Rendering Stops mid-point
    By mnad in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 12:13 AM
  3. Anchor point
    By kristovao in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2005, 01:37 PM
  4. Hollow Point - Episode 2
    By Marshall in forum User Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 05:18 PM
  5. 3-point 4-point editing
    By Mickp in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-15-2004, 06:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •