Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Zoom or Close Up help please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    W Surrey, England
    Posts
    109

    Default Zoom or Close Up help please

    I have some news film I want to play around with and incorporate with some original film, and I'd like to be able to get rid of the Sky News logo top and bottom. But I'd like the picture to be the same size as as the rest of the film.

    If I create a black border in Photoshop and lay that over the top, my pictures will be smaller.

    I found the 'zoom', but it starts where I want then gradually zooms back out, I want it to stay zoomed in throughout the clip.

    If this has been asked before, point me to the answer.

    Gillian
    Win XP, Athlon 1.8, G force 3 T, 1 60gig drive + 1 250 gig, Pinnacle Studio 9 plus mostly, Premiere 6, and Vegas 5 sometimes, Soundforge, Cool Edit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The zoom funtion is part of the motion setting. Simply scroll to the end of the clip, apply the same zoom percentage and you will get a uniform zoom accross the whole clip.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    W Surrey, England
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Thanks Marc.

    I asked around my club as well, belt and braces as it were, and got the following reply

    With Motion applied, use the delay slider to extend the settings at the start of the clip to the whole clip. You should see a blue line extend to show you how much is affected.

    I found that worked OK except for the opening 1%, but as I'd left some 'spare' at the start and end of the clip, it didn't matter.

    As an alternative I was told to investigate the crop and/or clip filters, but I haven't tried that yet.

    Gillian
    Win XP, Athlon 1.8, G force 3 T, 1 60gig drive + 1 250 gig, Pinnacle Studio 9 plus mostly, Premiere 6, and Vegas 5 sometimes, Soundforge, Cool Edit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    3

    Default Motion vs Transform for Zooming

    You may want to use the Transform filter instead of the Motion filter. Using Transform will affect the entire clip, applying the same settings for it's entire length. (Unless of course, you set keyframes and change settings within the clip's duration.)

    But based on your post, it looks like the Transform filter will do the trick nicely for you. In Premiere 6.5, the Transform filter is located in the "Distort" folder, not the "Transform" folder. (Yes, that is weird, but true.) Use the "Scale Height" and Scale Width" adjustments to zoom in on the clip to eliminate the edges you want to remove.
    Good Luck,
    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. Pan and zoom
    By AngelWhite in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2007, 07:52 AM
  2. Pan and Zoom
    By Gordon F in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 07:49 PM
  3. Shock Zoom
    By Moen.Jr in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-14-2006, 12:44 PM
  4. help, '..has encounterd a problem and needs to close...'
    By werdas in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2005, 11:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •