Thread: Best Codec for DV capture

Default Best Codec for DV capture

First of all, HELLO!

I am new to this kind o thing even though i already did 2 home-made DVDs, but those DVDs were very basic and simple......

Now to my question..... I decided to capture all my DV tape to hard disk so i can re use the tapes..... I would like to know the best video codec to use..... I want a codec that keeps quality and at the same time small file sizes....

Which codec do you recommend to me for capturing DV tapes?
    Your suggestions are always open

btw I have Sony DCR PC3E, its quite old but still does the job

Regards and thank you for your replies...

N. florida

The cost of miniDV tape has come to a price point that let's me always use new tape. While the camcorder writes to the tape in digital code it is still magnetic tape and it is not very wide and very thin so every time it runs through the rollers and across the heads it deteriorates a bit.

I can sometimes begin seeing dropout and other errors in stuff we have shot after only a few viewings of a tape. I wouldn't reuse miniDV tapes since new tape is so cheap.

However, if you decide to archive your images and reuse your tapes I would like for someone smarter and more experienced than I to speak up cause I'd like to know a smaller file type that retains original quality.

For safe archiving I'd store original raw files on a new HDD and when full safely put it away plus I'd break up the big original files into two or three pieces and the burn them to dvd data discs. Finally, I'd render the original files to mpeg2 and burn those on back up discs. The original tapes I'd put safely away as final backup. That's what we do - digital video is awesome but easy to lose.

fear loss of files of special video content so when archiving I:
    1. Put the raw and GIANT .avi captured files on a hard drive which when full we store carefully. New HDrives have gotten pretty inexpensive too.