Thread: Xbox 360 Video capture.

Default Xbox 360 Video capture.

Hi anyone,

Ok I have been trying to understand how the hell to capture video from my xbox 360 to my laptop so I can record my games and then upload them.

I understand that somehow you must link either the xbox to my laptop or TV I don not understand how and what with.

Please could someone with experience in this field explain this to me and what I need to purchase or hook up.

Blog Entries

If you have access to a DVD recorder, the simplest method is to feed the video and audio output from the xbox to this and record the foootage to DVD. Then rip the contents of this disc to your laptip to edit.

Alternatively you need a digital to analogue converter such as a canopus ADVC55.

Ok. I don't have a DVD recorder. But if I did how would I play the game on my TV while recording if the leads where in the DVD recorder as I say I am a total newb.

my setup at mo is,

Xbox to HDTV through componant.
    I also have a s-video to scart to watch films on my TV through the laptop.

Is there something I already have that would work.

I don't mind buying to get this hooked up. So whatever basically whatever is the best option for best quality and easiest to setup.

I am not a gamer but it sounds like you are NOT asking about playing against oponents online but just recording some of your game play so you can share it online with others.

Where are you planning to upload your game scenes to? A sharing site like YouTube or PhotoBucket?

Okay, you will need an adapter that will let your laptop capture video from your game system.

If your TV has component inputs then it most likely has component and composite and s video outputs.

If so you can buy a usb or firewire type adapter lots of places for $50 or less. You can simply connect output from your tv to input of this adapter which is connected to your laptop and the adapter should come with simple software to control both capture and editing of your images.