Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HD Advice Please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default HD Advice Please

    Hi,

    I'm fairly new to editing and I want to know if i can edit HD on a standard PC with no hardware upgrades?

    I'm using Premiere Pro 2 and I know that it can take 1080i/720p - what would I need to use 1080p (from the new Sony Z7)?

    Thanks in advance,

    JaseCD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    What are your pc specs ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default PC Specs

    Hi Mark,

    My current specs are as follows;

    Intel Centrino T2300 - 1.66Ghz Dual Core

    1024mb DDR Ram

    180 GB Internal SATA Hard Drive

    2 x 250 GB External SATA Hard Drives.

    I will however be building a new machine or buying a Mac (still undecided) in the next few months.

    Thanks,

    jasecd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Is that a laptop?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Yes - sorry, probably should have mentioned that. As I said, i will be buying a desktop/iMac/G5 early next year.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I think you may run into difficulties with that spec and trying to do HD (High Definition) video capturing/editing. HD video needs a lot more resources than what you have available at present.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default HD System

    Thanks for your advice.

    I've been doing some research and looking into what I would need to build an HD capable editing system. I think I need to include at least a dual core 3.0ghz processor, 4gb Ram and 1tb of storage. I am however struggling to understand exactly what is needed to capture in HD/HDV/SD formats.

    Do I need a dedicated capture card like this: Creative Video AJA Video Systems Kona LHe/LH

    or would an HDMI input card such as this suffice (assuming the camera has an HDMI output):
    Creative Video Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro HDMI / analogue component / s-video input (capture) card

    Finally, if I use a camera which records HDV to compact flash, can I just plug this into the system and import into the software without the need to capture?

    Thanks again,

    JaseCD

Similar Threads

  1. Need advice
    By Muzzykharal in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2007, 03:45 PM
  2. New here. Advice please
    By Archie in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 05:33 AM
  3. VHS TO DVD ADVICE PLEASE
    By didmorg in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2006, 01:43 PM
  4. Need an advice
    By Lord_Morgan in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 03:25 PM
  5. Need some advice on this one pls
    By CMS_Edit in forum User Videos
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 12:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •