Thread: Software recommendation for a complete beginner

Default Software recommendation for a complete beginner

Hi all,

As a complete beginner to video editing, never having even attempted it before, I'd like to seek out your advice for my first software package.

Key elements for me are:

Affordability - I'm dipping my toe in the water for the first time so don't want to spend much, say 100 max.

Ease of use - Bear in mind I'm a complete novice who's not even familiar with the terms, the software must be intuitive and 'idiot-proof'.

Xvid compatibility - Must allow me to work with captured Xvid files, manipulate them and convert to DVD.

Initially, all I'll be doing is capturing video from TV as Xvid files, cutting, joining and outputting to DVD (for my own use only obviously). For instance, I might want to record football matches and make a compilation of the goals from those games etc.

Like most people I guess, I only want to do basic things to start but I'm sure as my interest grows I'll want to do a little more

A friend has suggested that Ulead 11 might be a good starting point but I'd be grateful for any advice you can offer.

Expect a barrage of idiot techy questions once I get started
    Last edited by Crock; 12-17-2007 at 03:27 PM. Reason: error in post

Difficult one as we all say the one we use is the is easiest one use, i would download the free trials and see what suits you best.

here are some budget ones from Sony
    Sony Creative Software - The Studio Product Family
    Last edited by Z Cheema; 12-17-2007 at 08:47 PM.

Thanks Z Cheema, I'll take a look at the Sony software.

Western Europe

I wouldn't get too hung up on DivX files until you find a video editor that can work with them. Did someone recommend them to you?

Hi Nikosony,

Thanks for the reply.
    Apologies, I think I had a brain meltdown when I posted the first post, It should say Xvid files not Div X