Thread: 4 windows in my video

Default 4 windows in my video

Ok here's what I want to do so if someone can help me I'd greatly appreciate it. I'm a musician who makes my own music recording 1 track (instrument) at a time. I'd like to video myself doing just that but have no idea how. I've seen other musician's do it like this guy -
    Oh and i'd like to keep my costs down to purchase a new guitar I've had an eye on for awhile now so Premiere is out.

Western Europe

You want to make a video of yourself playing one instrument at a time?

Yeah, one intrument at a time. However, I should've did a search here before I posted as I did find the info from someone else wanting to do the exact same thing here in these forums. I downloaded the Editstudio trial and used the PIP feature and it seems to work just fine ( I'm going to make a video with 2 screens as the trial has a maximum 2 screens - if it works I'll buy the full version). I'll see when I actually start videoing in the next few days if that's all I need. Maybe I'll post my finished video here. I also just realized that I can afford Premiere "Elements" so can someone tell me if this software can also do what I'm looking for? Thanks
    Last edited by Leadbelly; 12-13-2007 at 02:48 PM. Reason: added "Elements" query!

Western Europe

Yes, either video editor will do what you are looking for, I would use APE as I am more familiar with it compared to the other program. You could have four screen running at the same time, albeit very cramped. You just need to shoot 4 video clips of you playing different instruments, bring each video clip into your editor, place each one on a separate video track and resize each one. That will leave you with one video playing in the top left, one in the top right, one in the bottom left and one in bottom right, just a suggestion.