Thread: old video tape to disc

Default old video tape to disc

I am a newbie could anyone tell me how to transfer old video tape to disc and what kind of software i need

Western Europe

This subject has been covered numerous times on this forum, by myself and others, you'll need to do a search for it.

Welcome to the forum, It all depends on, to what degree you want to do it. If you just want to transfer tape to dvd with minimum editing, taking out commericials ect. just get a dvd set top recorder and dub it over. If you want to get more into editing, then you would need a breakout box, dazzle ect. and one of many NLE software ranging from $50-1000's depending on how many features you want. Check the Sony And Adobe websites for free trials to see what you like. If you do a search on these forums you'll also see a lot of threads on this issue. Best of luck

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

N. florida

Since you ask about software sounds like you want to capture, maybe edit and then render content as a file suitable for dvd creation.

Start with your computer's dvd drive/burner. Most all come with free bundled software including programs that will control video capture to your hard drive and then let you open those files for editing.

I started with ULead Video Studio version 6 that came with my first dvd burner. What a GREAT and easy to use program. Even though I now have Adobe Premiere and Sony Vegas (among others) I still prefer my old "friend" from ULead for simple home movie editing - the user interface is easy to learn yet the program has plenty of effects and features.